

ECONOMIC, TOURISM CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Wednesday, January 17, 2024 | 9:00 am Saugeen Room | Civic Centre

MEMBERS PRESENT	Chair Dave Eccles Jason Rahn Jenn Olivero Pat Butler Steve White Susan Sakal
REGRETS	Jason Radstake
OTHERS PRESENT	April Marshall Andrew Wilken (departed at 9:30am) Sandeep Kaur Laura Christen
DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST	Nil
DELEGATIONS	Nil

DISCUSSIONS & DECISIONS

1. Adoption of December 6th, 2023 Regular Meeting Minutes

Moved by SUSAN SAKAL / Seconded by PAT BUTLER THAT the minutes of the December 6th, 2023 Regular Meeting be approved as printed and circulated.

CARRIED

2. Adoption of December 21st, 2023 Regular Heritage Meeting Minutes

Moved by JENN OLIVERO / Seconded by JASON RAHN THAT the minutes of the December 21st, 2023 Heritage Sub-Committee be approved as printed and circulated.

CARRIED

3. Business Arising from Minutes –

J. Rahn presented a Heritage Committee update highlighting ongoing efforts to identify new properties deserving of heritage building recognition. The committee is organizing a heritage house tour, potentially scheduled for Cultural Days in 2024. This event will also serve as a fundraising initiative for the committee.

4. Fourth Quarter Building Permit Stats

Andrew Wilken delivered updates on the building permits issued for the new subdivisions. The construction of the new apartments on 14th Street and 24th Avenue is anticipated to commence this year. Commercial projects experienced a decline last year, while the industrial

area witnessed significant development, including the construction of a firehall, contractor's shop, and Volkswagan, among others. He mentioned that the department anticipates substantial projects coming in this year.

5. Saugeen Connects 2023 Year in Review Presentation

A. Marshall provided a 2023 year in review update to the committee regarding the ongoing initiatives of Saugeen Connects. Initiated in March 2017, involving the SEDC and five municipalities: Brockton, Hanover, Minto, Wellington North, and West Grey. In May 2021, Arran-Elderslie joined as an additional municipal partner, followed by South Bruce in 2022. The mission aims to foster collaboration, positively impact regional economic growth, support youth retention and development, promote business growth and retention, and integrate efforts to attract immigrants to the area as residents, workers, entrepreneurs, business owners, operators, and investors. A. Marshall detailed the work completed that support the four pillars – Youth, Women, Workforce and Succession Planning.

6. Economic Development 2024 Workplan and Budget Update

A. Marshall conveyed to the committee that the Economic Development 2024 Workplan will be crafted with the strategic plan as a guiding framework. The committee reviewed and discussed the actions associated with this year's workplan.

7. Southwestern Ontario Isotope Coalition (SOIC)

A. Marshall updated the committee on the Southwestern Ontario Isotope Coalition (SOIC), established in June 2023. This coalition involves collaboration among regional leaders, including the City of Owen Sound and the Nuclear Innovation Institute (NII), in partnership with the Canadian Nuclear Isotope Council (CNIC). The primary objective is to unite the isotope community in Southwestern Ontario, leveraging the region's strengths for future opportunities. The Coalition plans to develop a strategic plan supporting regional expansion, raising local awareness of Southwestern Ontario's significance in Canada's isotope ecosystem, attracting public and private investment, and exploring ways to enhance the region's global role. The committee discussed the opportunity to promote our assets, like our businesses, the Saugeen Municipal Airport for transportation and Launch Pad for training, as part of the identifying the local supply chain.

Moved by JASON RAHN / Seconded by JENN OLIVERO

That the ETCDAC recommend to Council that Hanover sign up to be a partner of the Southwestern Ontario Isotope Coalition (SOIC).

CARRIED

8. Stakeholders & Initiative Updates

a) Launch Pad | HIPP Apprentice

A. Marshall emphasized the conclusion of the RED grant to support HIPP Apprentice initiative. It will conclude after the implementation of the video series, which are currently being finalized and will promote how the 'Trades are Cool' with local employers and additional videos around what Launch Pad offers. She introduced that the project coordinator, Christine Sampson, has assumed the role of the new Adult Programs and Operations Manager and a new Youth Programs Manager has been hired, which brings Launch Pad to their full staffing compliment. Additional successes include securing the Iron Works Union Local 736 as a regular tenant of the facility, who will utilize the welding bays to offer members training and testing space.

b) Hanover Chamber of Commerce

A. Marshall confirmed a request has been extended to the Chamber of Commerce to appoint a new representative. The Chamber conducts monthly business luncheons, with the upcoming one scheduled for February 14, 2024.

c) DIA

J. Olivero mentioned that the DIA held a budget meeting in December 2023, approving the budget on January 18, 2024. Additionally, she shared that promotional activities are underway to encourage shopping in downtown businesses. Furthermore, a letter delivery initiative will commence, providing information to businesses about municipal parking lots and advising against parking in front of their establishments, with downtown parking spots reserved for customers.

d) Saugeen Municipal Airport

A. Marshall mentioned discussions on the future with partner neighbouring municipalities is ongoing. In collaboration with the County, exploring investment options for the airport also continue.

e) Grey County

A. Marshall emphasized the return of the region's largest job fair to the Harry Lumley Bayshore Community Centre will be held on February 14, 2024. Unlike the 13 job fairs held last year in Grey-Bruce, this time Grey County has opted for a single large fair. She added that transportation arrangements are being made for the public that are facing difficulties in attending the event.

9. Adjournment

Moved by JASON RAHN / Seconded by SUSAN SAKAL

THAT this meeting now be adjourned at 11:16 am.

Chair, Dave Eccles

Committee Secretary, April Marshall